End of church-hopping?

Remember back here, in the comments, where I wrote:

I could do a good Anglo-Catholic parish. If St. James weren’t 50 miles away, I’d go there.

You know, after all those years as a magic-user, you’d think I’d know better than to put that out there. “Be careful what you ask for; you might get it.” and all.

So Tuesday last week, I got a call from Graham Schultz, kapellmeister at St. James: gee, I need a bass, would you consider coming back permanently? I didn’t say “Yes” right away; I wanted to ask my lady and my Lord. With the apparent blessings of both, and the clear sense that I’d just been yanked up by the rough and calloused Hand of God, I committed.

It’s a rougher ride than under Lou. Morning Prayer is now at 10, with the service starting at 10:30: rehearsal still at 9, but I’m getting home half an hour later.  We have evening rehearsals, and this week is like Holy Week in February: rehearsal Thurs., Fri. is Evensong for St. Charles Stuart, Sunday, then Candlemas on Monday. I’ll be talking to Fr. Crume when all that calms down. There’s a bit more music, not harder music, but Graham cracks the whip on the chant (with reason — if it isn’t good, why do it?). He is a fantastically talented musician, which makes it all worthwhile. But the commute is still a bitch.

Sunday was intense, with a lot of emotions whipped up: “Great, I’m home…but WTF am I doing?”

13 Responses to End of church-hopping?

  1. mssc54 says:

    I have often found many praise and worship teams are about performing.

    In Holy Scripture we are ALL called to make a jouful noise unto the Lord.

    I wonder when try outs started to see if one was good enough to make that joyful noise?

  2. kishnevi says:

    You know, St. Charles Stuart threw me there for a moment. But which set of bishops does this parish align itself with? (I’m presuming it’s not with Robinson, Schori, and Co.)

    mssc54–We may be all summoned to make a joyful noise, but joy-ful is not harmony-ful or melody-ful; those are different gifts of the Spirit, along with the natural (=God given) ability to sing and play. Maestro Quick has the charism that allows him to make a new song that is worth singing, but I don’t (and my ability to be harmonious and melodious is increasingly doubtful). So let him sing and write, and let those that have other gifts exercise theirs.

  3. mssc54 says:

    Kishnevi: So then you agree… the term “trying out” is not Written in Holy Scripture it is a term used by man to determine who is worthy of elevation to the status of praise and worship team member?! Got ya.

  4. jeffreyquick says:

    kishnevi…Yes. as in “Charles I”. Not because he was a despot, but because he resisted Puritan attempts to ditch the bishops..

    St. James is an Anglican Catholic parish, which means that it broke with ECUSA 30 years ago. So no African bishops or American bishopesses here!

    mssc54: I don’t do “praise and worship music”. I’m of the opinion that what one does musically in worship should be fundamentally different from what one does in the world. If I wanted to make nightclub music, I’d work in a nightclub….and sticking “Lord” in there instead of “Baby” doesn’t change it. It sounds to me like you had a bad audition experience once. Now, if everyone is qualified to do praise and worship music, it follows that doing so requires no talent. But not everyone has a gift for music, just as not everyone can preach or is qualified to administer the Sacraments.(You know…the “This is My Body…Do this…” thing). At St. James, there are things (ordinary and propers, anthems) that only the choir does, and other things (Credo, hymns) for the congregation to do, and everyone likes that fine. You may prefer a different style, and that’s also fine. For sure, it’s not a matter bearing on salvation.

  5. mssc54 says:

    No I never auditioned for anything. I will be the first to admit that I am “musically challenged.” 🙂

    However, I will also say that many times it seems to be more about the “performance” than the One to Whom the joyful sound is directed to.

    Additionally, while I enjoy P&W music on a CD it does bother me a bit that groups profit by something they’re supposed to be doing out of love for the Lord.

    I completely understand the dynamics of having to make some $$ in order to record, destribute, etc. but still…. “We love You, Lord”. Now that will be $15.95 seems a bit corrupt.

  6. MDC says:

    My wife (who is doing her research on Christian pop music) and I have a line…Jesus shouldn’t have to like bad intonation.

  7. Jeffrey Quick says:

    MDC: Jesus forgives all sins…but musicians should note Romans 6:1.

    mssc54: My general take is that the laborer is worthy of his hire, and if ministers get paid, why not musicians? People wouldn’t pay $16 for that P&W CD if they didn’t actually want to hear it. For me, the issue only moves into simony when the liturgy itself becomes an item of commerce (as it has become in the Catholic Church through their distribution of copyrights.)

  8. rwp says:

    If it’s under the auspices of the TAC, you may find yourself a Catholic, if the blogobuzz is correct.

  9. jeffreyquick says:

    I read that, but no, we’re not…the TAC is a post-Vicky Gene phenomenon.
    Info on relationship of ACC with TAC is here.

  10. kishnevi says:

    I looked up the local ACC out of curiousity–the nearest one is about a sixty minute drive (in no traffic) on I-95: a non denominational church that ended up with an exPresbyterian minister who led them into the ACC, and now call themselves St. John the Theologian. They have six Evensong services throughout the year but none of them for St. Charles Stuart. They do, however, seem to do as much music as they can with limited resources. They may not believe in women priests, but they certainly have a woman cantor, btw.

  11. jeffreyquick says:

    Well, so do we, sorta (cantoring gets passed around). And Monday is Faure’s Messe Basse with the women, so we aren’t afraid of women’s voice or sinuous chromatic harmony.

    And I added a link to your comment.

  12. kishnevi says:

    Show off. It’s the height of my technical skill to get a link into the main post.

  13. jeffreyquick says:

    Here’s my “praise and worship team”.

Leave a Reply

