Merry Christmas!

These guys want you to join the party

4 Responses to Merry Christmas!

  1. kishnevi says:

    And Merry Christmas back at you.

    But who is the second man in the creche? Mary had only one husband, as best I remember. (And is that a lamb or a rabbit on the right?)

  2. jeffreyquick says:

    Some shepherd. We’d found the Holy Family at a yard sale (though they needed some rewiring). The shepherd and sheep we bought new at Bronner’s in Frankenmuth to go with them. Yes, they’re kitschy. Have you priced non-kitschy creche figures?

  3. kishnevi says:

    Well, I don’t go shopping for creche figures, to be honest. But I think the last non kitschy creche scene was probably Fra Angelico’s. In fact, I think kitsch may be a sine qua non of creche figures.

    Actually, I think it’s not the fault of the creche so much as it’s the fault of the camera; whatever kind it is, nocturnal lighting doesn’t seem to be its forte.

    Meanwhile I’m on my personal celebration of Christmas–playing all the Christmas music I have (Messiah, L’Enfance du Christ, the Bach oratorio, the usual Charpentier and Palestrina culprits) in stages, and at the end, La Boheme.

    I presume the shawming went well.

    Merry the other ten days of Christmas.

  4. jeffreyquick says:

    I am the worst photographer. It’s a cheapie Vivitar, mostly because there aren’t many controls. I took several shots and this one without flash was the only one that worked. Actually, I kind of like the fact that it looks like bad Christmas card art.

    We did the Shepherd’s Farewell from l’Enfance yesterday as an offertory anthem (Graham’s last day, so we did 2 anthems). Otherwise, I’ve been avoiding Christmas music, except as professionally necessary.

    No shawming, but the sackbuts at the Covenant went relatively well. They record all their services, and they have a website, but not much besides a few sermons goes up. I recorded the prelude, and there’s a track or two I might even deign to put up, except that I don’t pay the extra WordPress wants to put up mp3s, and the Case site has an odd glitch where it’s truncating mp3s; they’ll claim to have loaded fine, but you’ll only get about the first 5 seconds. Their blog guy “is working on it” but nobody much works around Christmas.

Leave a Reply

