The Pope flirts with Gaia

Pope Benedict XVI denounced the failure of world leaders to agree to a new climate change treaty in Copenhagen last month, saying today that world peace depends on safeguarding God’s creation.

No, Benny. World peace depends on Jesus returning. Yes, we have a Christian duty to protect what God has blessed us with. But, like, did the Holy Spirit tell you that anthropogenic global warming is really real?

Please, Holy Father. As a Catholic, I’m supposed to respect you. And you’re making it so hard.

4 Responses to The Pope flirts with Gaia

  1. kishnevi says:

    Excuse me.
    You’re an Anglo-Catholic. Not a Roman Catholic.
    Which means you may respect him, but only to a certain point.

  2. jeffreyquick says:

    Given that the only doctrinal difference with Rome that I’ve been able to find has to do with the primacy of the Bishop of Rome (which is a self-serving argument), I’ll probably end up crossing the Tiber eventually. Meanwhile, I’m a member of a church which is schismatic but not heretical…so what does that mean?

  3. jeffrey smith says:

    You? Join the most authoritarian religious organization in existence which was not founded by L. Ron Hubbard?

    I know your religious conservatism runs fairly deep, but I have a hard time seeing you doing anything simply because a man in a fancy hat and robe tells you to do it; you seem to be the sort who uses the phrase, “yes, father”, only in talking to Mr. Quick, Sr., and even then only when you think it appropriate.

    If you said you would eventually cross the Hellespont and go into communion with the Patriarch of Constantinople, I would not be surprised. But the Patriarch of Rome? !

  4. Jeffrey Quick says:

    If the RCs are authoritarian enough to share a sentence with the Co$, then they do a piss poor job of it and should consider making David Miscavage pope. They’re about as good at running a top-down organization as your folks are at running an international conspiracy.

    In fact, I had just written Mr. Quick (and the message hit the bit bucket during a connection failure…time for a real mail program at home!) talking about the doctrines that I have a personal problem with. None of them seem to be deal-breakers. I see the Immaculate Conception and Perpetual Virginity of the BVM to be unnecessary more than impossible, though I have to ask why, if God could create Mary free from original sin, he didn’t do likewise to the rest of us and spare His Son. However, given how I’ve screwed my life up by thinking I could generate reality myself, I’m inclined to trust that I’ll Get It one of these days. I never dreamed that I’d repent of all the fornication I’ve done, but I have, and not because “I’m supposed to.” So anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

