Fire Mundie, or fire Microsoft

Given that Craig Mundie still has a job with Micro$oft, (after suggesting an “Internet drivers’ licence“) it’s pretty apparent where the Rogues of Redmond stand on the topic of Internet freedom: one giant goose step to the right of Google China. Which means it’s apparent that free people need to fire Microsoft. They haven’t been making money from me…I have Office at work, and I run a Mac. But after this latest episode, I have no desire to run ANY of their software. I’ve been meaning to look at OpenOffice or something similar for Rusty, who uses MS Works and expects me to open her word processing documents, so I might go that way myself.  Meanwhile I have a laptop I mainly use for conference email, which is blessed with Vista. Given that I can barely figure out Windows, I’m a little nervous about Linux, but maybe it’s time for me to learn (possibly with a cheapie used machine). That should frost Mundie’s butt, given that he’s apparently also a foe of open source. Personally, I hope he finds himself so unemployed that he’d have to go to North Korea to find another tech job.

3 Responses to Fire Mundie, or fire Microsoft

  1. kishnevi says:

    I have OpenOffice, to use in place of Excel and MS Word. Word processing wise, it’s fairly comparable to MS Works, although I think it doesn’t have all the bells and whistles that Works has. However, since they are the bells and whistles I don’t use, that’s not a real negative from my POV. The only real problem I have with it is that it loads slower than Works loads.

    If I do switch from Windows, it will probably be to a Mac of some sort; to use Linux I’d need an Idiot’s Guide to the Idiot’s Guide to Linux 🙂

  2. Michael Grosh says:

    I loaded ubuntu (Linux) on a really antiquated laptop, so it can be done-some sources say it can’t be done on a laptop-and i am not a computer guru at all. had to play around formatting the (in my case 20 gig) hard drive for dual booting, because, the WiFi adapter does not play well with linux (no drivers) There is a workaround for that, but I have yet to find the secret. I’ve been thumb driving from XP to ubuntu internet downloads.

    Other than that, OpenSource applications(I have checked out, word processing, spreadsheets, and photo processing) graphical versions work very well if you are used to Microsoft stuff.

    You may or may not be pleased to know the XP version I am using was purchased via internet from Microsoft’s branch office in Russia. F**k’em.

  3. jeffreyquick says:

    Michael, don’t know if I’m “pleased” or not, but if you got XP to avoid Vista and if you got it cheap, more power to ya.

Leave a Reply

