The stuff I find helping patrons with research

Some of my stories about [Julius Eastman] I can’t use in my liner notes, like the time at New Music America 1980 when I unwittingly let him lead me into a gay bar in Minneapolis – it took me a moment to figure out why all these burly men were wearing midriff shirts, but I kept calm, stayed 15 minutes before excusing myself politely on account of other commitments, and thought I handled it pretty coolly for being only 24 and very inexperienced. He used to try to talk me and Peter into trying out gayness in that mellifluous deep bass of his. He griped at us for using deoderant, saying, “Only straights use deoderant these days,” to which Peter would yell, “Julius, whaddaya think we are?!” —Kyle Gann

God, I love my job!

One Response to The stuff I find helping patrons with research

  1. Monkey says:

    Thanks for straitng the ball rolling with this insight.

Leave a Reply

