My reply to Rob Portman (wannabe Voinovich replacement)

…since he was “nice enough” to send me a letter.

Dear Mr. Portman,

Upon examining your fundraising letter, I noted that nowhere do you tell me which laws you would repeal, and which departments and programs you would end.  I have a firm policy of never donating to candidates who do not pledge to roll back the size of government.  In case you haven’t noticed, we’ve had “climate change” in the past year (and not of the Gorean sort), and no matter how evil the Democrat are, “slower growth in government” is not going to cut it. I think it’s quite unfortunate that we won’t have “a costly primary”, because it’s the only mechanism we have of separating sheep from goats. Thus, you will have to prove during the general election that you are not a goat, even though you have a record of goatlike behavior. Wise up! We are tired of being governed; we’d rather govern ourselves.

2 Responses to My reply to Rob Portman (wannabe Voinovich replacement)

  1. kishnevi says:

    Question: have you ever gotten a letter from a candidate asking your opinion or advice, or anything other than you money? I’ve never gotten one that I can recall.

  2. Jeffrey Quick says:

    Actually, I get them fairly frequently…not from candidates per se but from bigwig Republicans (generally fronting for some GOP org or another). This generally takes the form of a survey, with suitably loaded questions. I’ll either answer literally what the questions asks, qualify my answer, or add a “none of the above” box. I keep filling them out (without adding money). I don’t know how long it will take them to get with my program or figure out I’m not really one of them, but I continue to use my valuable time (and their postage-paid envelope) to give them information.

Leave a Reply

