Back again

In spite of having wifi at camp, I did very little on the Net. I kept up with email, and news somewhat, but there was little time for blogging, and when there was, there was usually a shawm or two blaring behind me…not conductive to concentration. But a good time was had by all. I was taught how to use a reed knife (and how to sharpen one even) so that I can fearlessly destroy cane. One project along those lines will be to learn how many kinds of sound I can get from my shawms. Bob and Joan are into a very controlled, dark sound. There were lots of folks playing “ciaramelli d’amore” (C/F shawms, A440) by Joel Robinson. They’re good axes, and the other parts don’t have to transpose to suit them. But coming home, I was listening to  Les Haulz et las Bas, and realized that their bright full sound was what I fell in love with. A good player should be able to produce any sound possible from his instrument, but a lot of it is reed and setup, and I need to get full control of that.

I came home to no running water… we’d had a plumbing failure, and Rusty had fixed it, but the glue needed time to dry before we put pressure on it. And I had a shipment of trees that I won’t have time to plant until Fri or Sat., so I had to heel them into the garden in the last glimmers of dusk. And we’d had a goat injury, but it’s getting better.

2 Responses to Back again

  1. kishnevi says:

    I’m glad one of us can say we had a cheerful productive weekend. I was prepping for Pesach (sort of)–productive but hardly cheerful.

    Is there anything that woman can’t do?

  2. jeffreyquick says:

    She can’t spell. Her musicianship is limited to singing along with recordings (which she does fairly well, for a middle-aged smoker). She’s ignorant of higher mathematics. But overall, it’s a good broad skill set, and complementary to mine.

Leave a Reply

