Low actions in high churches

Parker Bosley, Cleveland’s former culinary king (I guess Michael Symon has the title, now that Parker’s not in the kitchen so much) is a member of St. James. And today during coffee hour he was peddling the horrific HSUS petition to tell farmers how to farm. When he approached me, I was on my good behavior…I pointed out how totally with him I was on animal rights, and that I had chickens myself, but that it would be a sin for me to sign the petition as I had no king but Jesus and did not have the right to tell farmers how to farm. He walked off to greener pastures, and that was that. The sad thing is that Parker has done as much as anyone in Ohio to build free-market solutions to farm animal cruelty. And now he wants me to delegate somebody to carry a gun onto somebody else’s property and order them around — which, should I ever find such a thing necessary and ethical, I will do in person, thankyouverymuch. It makes me think less of the man, both from the coercive aspects, and in the un-Anglican bad taste of politicking the congregation. And I wonder how he feels about using the State’s power to enforce other moral positions.

2 Responses to Low actions in high churches

  1. Tom Jackson says:

    I plan to sign the HSUS petition as soon as it is presented to me, and I’m afraid that libertarian purity arguments (“carry a gun on somebody else’s property and order them around”) leave me unmoved when they are made on behalf of folks who see billions of dollars of federal farm subsidies as a right. I’m fine with letting people who farm on their own dime do it any way they want to. I’m not fine with being forced to subsidize cruel animal practices. You’ll be accepted as a useful ally by the farm lobby so long as you don’t raise pesky questions about federal farm policy.

  2. jeffreyquick says:

    First, Tom, sorry that your comment got stuck in the spam queue.
    Second, your argument sounds a lot like, “These guys are using the State against me, so I’m going to use it against them.” You say that you’re fine with people farming on their own dime doing as they wish, but this law will affect them too… so in practice you are NOT fine with it. Your goal to not pay for animal cruelty can be addressed in two ways: end the cruelty, or end the pay. If you end the cruelty, you’re still paying. If you end the paying, you’re no longer supporting the cruelty or anything else, obviously a better outcome, especially as you won’t be coercing those whose cruelty you never were paying for.

    I haven’t made up my mind on farrowing crates. I don’t eat veal, and our chickens are well-treated. Feedlots suck.

Leave a Reply

