Tourists on the Robert E. Lee Plantation

We ate a light brekkie for “free” (TANSTAAFB) and took off to town. Our first goal was Arlington, and we got there, but couldn’t find a way in. Instead, we visited the Pentagon and the Pentagon Memorial. The idea was fairly clever, but Rusty basically found it kind of ugly, and was fascinated more by the planes flying in, way too low over the Pentagon. But I knew she wanted in, so I kept going, and found a pedestrian gate open, at Area Section 51. So we saw newly-potted guys, and Civil War guys (a lot of civilians from then, in Section 27; whuzzup with that?), including one guy who bought the farm on my -92nd birthday. Rusty took lots of pictures of stones of female veterans.

Then off to downtown. We found spendy street parking and went to the Smithsonian American History museum.I found a lot of the exhibits kind of lightweight, and since Rusty is not the sort to do things sequentially and read everything, I didn’t get as much out of it as I could have. We both enjoyed Julia Child’s kitchen, and kind of grooved on the Choate house. She got many pics of me in the musical instruments, but failed in her attemps to photograph the Ruby Slippers. But then on 3 E, I went into the bathroom, didn’t hear Rusty say where she was going, and we lost each other…which was compounded by cell phone malfunction. We finally got together but decided to call it a day for sight-seeing and went back to the room to mellow.

2 Responses to Tourists on the Robert E. Lee Plantation

  1. kishnevi says:

    I found a lot of the exhibits kind of lightweight

    Matches my memory of the Smithsonian–which, seeing I was 8 years old at the time, probably says something about the Smithsonian. It seemed a very hodge podge sort of place. “Here, we have some open floor here. What can we use it for?”

    I hope you saw the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. The only thing that impressed me about Washington, other than the size of the Capitol Rotunda (which probably had more to do with me being eight years old than with the Rotunda), was the Changing of the Guard ceremony. And the JFK grave was rather eery: the eternal flame, and the graves of the stillborn children next to him (which of course struck me rather hard, me being still a kid), and (I think–if memory isn’t playing a trick on me, because I can’t remember if RFK was actually dead by then) RFK’s grave neatly beside them. Naturally, being Massachusettsians, we had to go pay our homage.

  2. Jeffrey Quick says:

    The floors had themes. Some of the areas (the exhibit on the Presidency) were fairly well integrated. (that one however had weird shit like Bill Clinton’s saxophone). But yeah, hodge-podgy.

    No, we didn’t see the Unknown. Rusty mentioned the JFK, and I said, “I don’t have to pee yet.” At that point, in the interests of keeping me out of jail for the premiere, she dropped the idea.

Leave a Reply

