And now for something completely different

Thanks (?) to Jeffrey Tucker, I have discovered The Remnant, an interesting Catholic publication. Every person with unpopular opinions fancies himself part of the Remnant (from the Latin remaneo, stale leftovers), and so it is here. But while most Remnants hold themselves out as a witness against the sinful majority, this Remnant is most offended by other Remnants… especially those of a libertarian bent.

As I show in the book, this movement is casting more and more Catholics under its spell, thanks to the tireless efforts of its Catholic leaders, including Lew Rockwell, President and Founder of the Mises Institute, Tom Woods, Jeffrey Tucker, and their liberal Catholic allies such as Father Robert Sirico, whose Acton Institute—named after the anti-Romanist Liberal Catholic, Lord Acton—has sponsored Tom Woods’s widely criticized book attacking the Church’s Social Teaching, The Church and the Market.

Interestingly, I consider the Mises Catholics to have been instrumental in my conversion (along with Vox Day and Fr. Cyril Crume). Also interestingly, it was a libertarian (David Macko) whose arguments persuaded me that there was a legitimate state interest in protecting the unborn. I will admit to still being catechetically unformed by the church’s social teachings; when I read the documents of the last century, I suspect that there were Communists in the Vatican. But I do have to come to terms with those teachings, one way or another, and perhaps reading an extremist interpretation will help in that. But it doesn’t help to read  “I find [Mises’] economics useless and his philosophy jejune.” I’m not nuts about the anti-clerical strain of libertarianism, but I understand it; the Church has often used the State’s means to its own ends. And I’ve yet to be persuaded that taxation is not a violation of the 7th Commandment.

Anyway, if you’re curious about such things, stop in and poke around.

4 Responses to And now for something completely different

  1. kishnevi says:

    Well, a Certain Person did say his kingdom was not of this world…

    On the other hand, when the Apostles tried to set up a commune, the effort failed. Would that mean the Holy Spirit disapproved of the idea?

    As this Remnant–their basic idea is that everyone should just shut up and do what the Church tells them to do, under the guise of “Catholic teaching”. Traditionalist Catholic teaching, of course. Which means all the things in Catholicism (like the absolute authority of the Pope and worshipping dead people, statues and holy objects–too much like idol worship for this Jew) that I’m not keen on. But of course, that’s why I’m not a Catholic.

  2. jeffreyquick says:

    Yeah, that “Put up and shut up” thing grates. Yet one reason I am a Christian is that rational moral rules have failed to provide good results, so I have to at least consider teachings that seem out-there. But I’m the kind of guy who needs to make a teaching my own. Example: I no longer have an issue with the Perpetual Virginity of Mary, because it’s not about the BVM being too good to do the nasty, but Mary & Joseph being Superparents.

    And Catholics don’t worship dead people; they recruit them for their personal prayer team. Why not get a saint to pray for you? He’s been proven to be good at it.

  3. kishnevi says:

    When I said worshipping dead people, I meant it very literally.

    It’s not so bad in US Catholic churches, but in Europe and Latin America, almost every big church I went into had at least one saint on display behind the high altar or on display in the crypt underneath, and
    PEOPLE ON THEIR KNEES PRAYING TO IT!
    And even in US churches, at expositions of the Sacrament, they have the Holy Wafer on display and
    PEOPLE ON THEIR KNEES PRAYING TO IT!

    And I don’t mean praying in front of it. I mean praying to it.

    My Jewish upbringing revolts at that. You don’t worship dead bodies or pieces of bread, no matter how holy they are. That’s why during my Christian phase I went from RC to Episcopalian. I don’t have a problem with the doctrine itself–Judaism has its own tradition of praying at the graves of holy folks, after all, not to mention living rabbis–and the Episcopalian practice, being much more subdued (There’s a consecrated Sacrament over there, if you want to pray in front of it, dude. If not, fine.) was easy for me to live with. It’s the way the RCs put the doctrine into practice that I have problems with.

    Interesting take on the Perpetual Virginity.

    • jeffreyquick says:

      OK, I get it. “Christ” vs. “I know from crackers, and that’s a cracker.” It’s hard to get beyond early training. I have a lot of Prot and Wiccan baggage too…one reason the BVM and I aren’t terribly chummy. Either Mary is just a mom, or she’s a Goddess (even though I know better), and either way she’s not quite what the Church says she is.

Leave a Reply

