TSA comedy and song

Via Soja, apparently there’s a troll in the TSA, working WeWontFly.com. Some of its comments have been unprintable. This is one of the more reasonable ones:

If any of you are parents who have children, I feel sorry for the kids because you will raise them to be cynical, skeptical and totally paranoid.

Gosh, I hope so.

Elsewhere, Vanderbeogh comes out of semi-retirement to share some crotch-grabber carols. They aren’t of phenomenal quality or anything, but they’re there. It strikes me that the center of folk music culture is moving to the right. We don’t have a Woody Guthrie or Pete Seeger yet, but it’s coming, and it’s only a matter of time before a famous protest song comes out of this. One can only wonder what Tom Lehrer in his prime would have done with the TSA. Another song ripe for abuse is Blue Lu Barker’s “Don’t you feel my leg” (covered by Maria Muldaur):
“Don’t you feel my leg,
Don’t you feel my leg,
’cause if you feel my leg,
you’re gonna feel my thigh.
And if you feel my thigh,
you won’t let me fly
So don’t you feel my leg.”

2 Responses to TSA comedy and song

  1. BaltoCath says:

    One can only wonder what Tom Lehrer in his prime would have done with the TSA.

    He would have done bupkes. Tom Lehrer, in his prime and out of it, was a lapdog of the Left.

  2. Jeffrey Quick says:

    Yes, he was. It doesn’t follow from that, though, that he would have ignored such a rich vein of comedy, particularly if a Republican were President. He did criticize academic dishonesty in the Soviet Union after all (“Lobachevsky”)

Leave a Reply

