Mom

Her nurse called at 7 am and informed me that she had taken a turn for the worse. So Patty (a dear friend and caregiver) and I went down and spent the last couple hours with her.  She was semi conscious but knew we were there.  She  had terrible labored breathing, and all of a sudden she smiled and opened one eye  and then gradually and peacefully her breathing got shallower and shallower until finally she closed her eyes and opened her mouth as if to make good that no one would see her silent with closed lips, unable to spread cheer and good will to her fellow men.  As for her wishes I have made cremation arrangements, there will be no funeral or viewing.  Our immediate family will get together at the first opportunity to pray for he eternal rest and celebrate her life with a champagne toast
as she had asked.  Thank you all for your prayers but it was God’s will as he needs her more then we do and that need must be great indeed.  any memorials if desired should be given to your favorite  charity in her name. She won’t know and I don’t want to know.  Peace be with us all…….Jim

I was glad to make it up Weds-Thurs. to say goodbye. It looked like she was on the mend, and I needed to cover for Stephen (he would have covered if there’d been the need, but we didn’t see the need.) Otherwise, I’m not sure where I’m at. I’ve got 2 grandgirls sowing chaos (and requiring almost $200 in sporting goods for their new league softball adventure). Mom and I were never particularly close; she really tried to be a good mom, but she had family baggage of her own (“My dad took one look at me and ran away.”). So I’m not missing her yet. I’m more worried about my Dad. It seems to me that the best thing I could do is to go outside and make something live, it being the season for that.

3 Responses to Mom

  1. kishnevi says:

    “May you be comforted among the mourners of Zion” is the traditional Jewish statement–so:
    May you be comforted among the mourners of Zion

    Does any family live in Michigan besides your father? If not, you might want to try to get him to move, at least temporarily, closer to you or another sibling.

  2. jeffreyquick says:

    My sister is about an hour away…which doesn’t get her out there much more often than we do. I got to meet Patty, the “girl” who used to live across the street who helps them out. She’s a year younger than I am! He’ll want to stay there unless/until some health episode makes that impossible.

  3. Linda Morgan says:

    My condolences, and thoughts and prayers for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

