SS. Cyril and Methodius, Warren OH : Not too shabby

19th Sunday in Ordinary

Sandwich fixin’s: Eternal Father Strong to Save, Amazing Grace, You Are Mine (D. Haas), How Can I Keep From Singing
Missalette: Breaking Bread
Penitential rite C, Alstott psalm
Mass duration: 48 minutes
Here’s the outside:

The plastic furniture was out there for coffee hour afterwards…a little odd to be in front like that, but very nice that they had one. The church website claims that it’s “one of the most beautiful edifices in the diocese”, which I can well believe, alas. Not quite as nice as the Mac in Ravenna, but it’s purely an issue of my stylistic preferences; this is a very nice church.
Here’s the inside:

Inside SS. Cyril and Methodius, after Mass

As I went in, they were saying the Rosary ; POINTS! (They also do Adoration and a perpetual novena to St. Jude on Wednesdays) Not a terribly big crowd, and older; a few young people, but no crying babies. Now, I’m not a fan of babies crying during Mass, but when I don’t hear them, I have to wonder what’s wrong. I frequently joke that I left an alleged fertility cult for a real fertility cult (and somehow neither my Wiccan nor my Catholic friends find this as amusing as I do). Only one woman in improper attire.

There was a big choir loft and electronic organ, both unused. There was an electronic organ, but as far as I could tell, it was being played from the sacristy or thereabouts though the general sound system. The organist and cantress were going over the psalm in back before the service. It would have been nice if they could have done that out of hearing, but you have to do what you can do. There was no independent organ music. Both the organist and cantress were effective, though their rhythm in the response to the psalm was wayward enough that it was hard to sing along. The Gospel Acc. was apparently a seasonal alternative, as it did not match the Missal. The Alleluia was a common one around here (don’t know whose, as they never tell us these things):
6/8: s-dd-r|mrdr–|f-rm-d|rdls– (in solfege)

The homily was fine. Apparently they were to get a new pastor this week, but it was delayed, and apparently it was a Fr. Jeffrey Stealey who spoke. Whoever he was, he was good, explicating both the context of the Gospel and its application to life. He wasn’t taking prisoners either; he compared Peter’s lapse of faith to married couples who, as they get into their 30s, find it harder to observe the Church’s teachings on contraception.

There were the usual Extra Ordinary Ministers of Holy Communion (nothing extraordinary about them, just very extra and very ordinary)…I had a pew to myself, so I just sat there and sang so the people going up wouldn’t have to.

All in all, it was a well-run church, and I’d go back there. There were no liturgical violations, hymnody was mostly traditional (and even matched the readings if not, you know, the Propers they are supposed to be subbing for), preaching was good, there were donuts, music wasn’t much but it’s summer and most choirs take it off.

5 Responses to SS. Cyril and Methodius, Warren OH : Not too shabby

  1. mes Quick says:

    Ah, the churches teaching on contraception may be Godly, but they are counter to nature. Most women are steaming during fertility, and God certainly created man to be greatly aroused when his woman was hot to trot.. I have 80 years of experience to verify that fact……Jimbo

  2. kishnevivi says:

    You might want to rephrase that last sentence a little. “Choirs taking it off” suggests a group settling down on a nude beach.

    it’s a nice bell tower, but the inside suggests a converted barn to me.

  3. Jeffrey Quick says:

    What’s contrary to Nature? Nature clearly wants to make babies. Contraceptive users don’t.

    I must confess that I’ve occasionally undressed individual choristers with my eyes. But to see a typical church choir in the nude? I’ll pass.

  4. mes Quick says:

    I thought Catholics used abstenance during fertile times and were not allowed contraceptives. Ah ha, you’re like Jimmy Carter and commit adultry in your heart…..jimbo

  5. Dean T says:

    what does any of this have to do with our economic woes, are you out of work? homeless? In need of an outlet to let everyone know your problems? Doesn’t this trump whatever Justin Bieber is doing now? Post your opinions and bitches about the way things are at my site http://www.our-america.com

Leave a Reply

